Register
Join Cyclechaos! Motorcycles Wiki Forum Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Cycle Chaos > Cyclechaos Forums > Manufacturers > Yamaha > 2008 virago 250 - getting into neutral problems

2008 virago 250 - getting into neutral problems

This is a discussion on 2008 virago 250 - getting into neutral problems within the Yamaha forums, part of the Manufacturers category; I am a newbie and will take the MSF course next week. I have been practicing on my 3 week ...

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-26-2006   #1

Default 2008 virago 250 - getting into neutral problems

I am a newbie and will take the MSF course next week. I have been practicing on my 3 week old bike and have noticed its almost impossible to get the bike into neutral after the bike has been moving. The dealer "lost" the owner's manual and they were suppoded to replace it last week but it still "has not arrived". I have no problems shifting while driving just getting into neutral. Any tricks? Could there be something wrong with the shifting mechanism? How would I know? Thanks.
I Demand Answers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2006   #2

Hi landsman113. We usually don't shift into neutral while the bike's moving. Why do you want to do this?

BTW the bike will be hard to shift into first when NOT moving. You need to be into first before you stop.

You say your bike is 3 weeks old. Is it a used 3 week old bike or a new one. If used, when was the last time the oil was changed. Old oil will make shifting harder.

Tony
jubjub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2006   #3

As it turns out this is a common problem with many new motorcycles. After googling this problem I found that one needs to move the motorcycle forward and backward several times (while motorcycle is off) and the attempt to place in neutral and wala it works. As to why this works it is a mystery to me.