Register
Join Cyclechaos! Motorcycles Wiki Forum Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Riding boots

This is a discussion on Riding boots within the Motorcycle Safety forums, part of the General category; I'm relatively new to the motorcycle world, I was lookin at some motorcycle specific boots out there. I have a ...

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-03-2007   #1

Default Riding boots

I'm relatively new to the motorcycle world, I was lookin at some motorcycle specific boots out there. I have a pair of study hiking boots, which look pretty similar to most of the motorcycle boots out there. Do motorcycle specific boots really offer more protection? If so, what kind? I see that race boots are injection molded and everything, but they a. seem impractical for a casual rider and b. would be he most expensive part of my gear if I bought a pair. Any insight?
explorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2007   #2

Default Riding boots

I just bought a pair Army combat boots from the local surplus store in town here... Paid $50 for them. I've heard a lot of bikers (at least on the cruiser forums) suggest they are the most comfortable boots with good support.

The ones I grabbed today go up to the middle of my shin and are pretty darn sturdy the whole way up. I'll see how riding goes tonight. :)

Before this? I was wearing a normal pair of hiking boots. I believe the biggest part is having your ankle covered and protected.
Kmart1326 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2007   #3

Default Riding boots

I flew with the Air Force for 26 years and have an extra pair of flying boots. They're just like combat boots, but are kid leather lined and have lace locks rather than standard shoe laces. They're very comfortable.