Register
Join Cyclechaos! Motorcycles Wiki Forum Recent Posts Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Cycle Chaos > Cyclechaos Forums > Manufacturers > Honda > 1983 Honda Magna v45, No-start

1983 Honda Magna v45, No-start

This is a discussion on 1983 Honda Magna v45, No-start within the Honda forums, part of the Manufacturers category; Hey! New the cyclechaos forum and site. Hope some of you guys can help me on this one. So, I ...

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-08-2011   #1

Default 1983 Honda Magna v45, No-start

Hey!

New the cyclechaos forum and site. Hope some of you guys can help me on this one.

So, I got a non running 83 v45(guy told me it wasnt hitting on one cylinder), so i pulled the carbs, did a full clean(I'm a certified kawi tech... cleaned many carbs in my day), got the carbs back on the bike. The fuel pump will not pump when hooked up like it should be.. be when i jump it off the batt is pumps just fine..., so i let the pump run for a good couple mins to get the bowls full. Sprayed some carb cleaner in all carbs, went to start.. and nothing.

So pulled the plugs, which looked pretty rough an changed them(each cylinder fired with the new plugs).

Did a compression test, I got 125psi on the back two, and 150psi on the front to cylinders...

Opened up the drains on all the bowls... got fuel out of each of them(I did noticed the gas in the sub tank was pretty rough an pumped all that out, so it has fresh 91 octane in it).

Only thing I haven't done is a valve clearance check.

Any advice or suggestions would be great. I've gotten more bikes to run that havent ran in years then I can be remember...and this one has me baffled.

Sorry for the long read!
landygrundy86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011   #2

Default 1983 v45

Quote:
Originally Posted by landygrundy86 View Post
Hey!
New the cyclechaos forum and site. Hope some of you guys can help me on this one. So, I got a non running 83 v45(...)